2018 Officer Election

The 2018 officer candidates are listed below along with a short vitae.  Below the candidates is the form to use for your choice.  The form does ask for identification since we need to be sure the election is valid and only from TS AAPT members.  Once proper ID has been established, the names will be removed for the final tally. If you prefer not to have your name submitted, contact Paul William to tell him your choice. NOTE THAT WITHOUT A NAME YOUR VOTE WILL NOT BE COUNTED.

Vice President

My name is Tim Head, I graduated with a B.S. in Physics and Mathematics from Texas Tech in 2000, and received my Ph.D. in Solid State Physics from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champagne in 2008. I am currently a professor in the Engineering and Physics Department at Abilene Christian University where I have taught since receiving my doctorate.  I have been a regular attendee of meetings and supporter of the TSAAPT since I returned to Texas in 2008.  The organization serves to facilitate a wonderful community of physics teachers and students at all levels. As the former SPS Councilor for TX, I worked very closely with the TSAAPT section to be sure that our meetings had good events for students.  I hope that as vice president of TSAAPT, I can continue working with SPS Zone 13 and TSAPS to be sure that the events at meetings are excellent for teachers and students at all levels, and that the physics teachers of Texas are well supported by our organization. 

Stephanie Ingle joined the Lee College Faculty in the Fall of 2017 after working as Adjunct Faculty for many semesters over the past 20 years.  Over the past year she has been developing online components for the Physics 1405 course so that it may be offered in a hybrid format. Stephanie has also been working to add online enhancements to the Physics 1401 curriculum.  Before  joining the faculty at Lee College, she spent 25 years teaching high school physics, physical science (IPC), and math.  The last 18 years were concentrated on Pre-AP Physics at the Trigonometry/Algebra level and AP Physics C: Mechanics and AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, which are calculus-based engineering physics. The AP Physics program grew from 5 students her first year at Kingwood High School with only one student taking the AP exam to an average of 55 students per year with 40 of them taking the exams.  Approximately ninety percent of her students who took the Mechanics AP test passed as well as seventy-five percent of students taking the Electricity and Magnetism AP test. Stephanie was presented with the “Excellence in Physics Education” Award from TSAAPT in 2014.  She has been an active member of the Texas Section AAPT for most of her career and has given many workshops at CAST, TSAAPT meetings, the TRC Lake Houston Collaborative, and to teachers in Humble ISD.  Before moving to Humble ISD, she taught College of the Mainland and at Ball High School.  Mentored by John Hubisz, she discovered her love of teaching.  She served as Coordinator of the Galveston County Physics Faire for 7 years, from the time Dr. Hubisz left Texas until she moved to Humble.  Stephanie earned her MS in Physical Sciences from University of Houston at Clear Lake in 1992 with an emphasis on Physics and Space Science.  She received her BS in Physics from Sam Houston State University in 1989. At SHSU she was actively involved in the SPS chapter and served as Vice President for one year.  It was then that she began to attend Texas Section meetings with her SPS chapter.  She taught Physics labs beginning her sophomore year at SHSU to Physics majors, other science majors, and Elementary Education majors. Her goal as an instructor is to find new ways to implement PER strategies to reach students at all levels of preparation and to make physics personal and relevant for all of her students.

High School Representative

Kenric Davies is a high school physics teacher with 8 years of service to Physics education in Texas.  He is currently an AP Physics 1 and Astronomy teacher at Liberty High School in Frisco ISD and was with Sherman ISD prior.  He received his BA in Physics from Texas A&M University and his MAT in Science Education from UT Dallas where he focused his Thesis research on topics in High School Physics Education which was presented at the TSAAPT meeting in Baytown, TX. He has been an active member of the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) serving on the Committee on Physics in High School.  For the last three years, He has been a member of the Physics Teaching Resource Agents (PTRA).  During his career, he has attended all state CAST conferences and presented both on his own and through TSAAPT workshops for elementary through high school teachers looking for innovative and creative ways to tackle tough physics concepts.  He received the Excellence in Physics Education award from TSAAPT and the Texas Medical Association Ernest and Sarah Butler Award for Excellence in Science Teaching in 2016.  He was also a finalist for the Tech Titans of the Future Award in 2017


Dr. David Donnelly is a professor of Physics at Texas State University, where he has been on the faculty since 2000.  Prior to that, he was on the faculty at Sam Houston State University.  He received a B.A. in Physics from the University of California at Berkeley, and a Ph.D. in Physics from the University of California at Santa Barbara.  His interest is in Physics Education Research.  He has been involved in leadership of the Texas Section of AAPT since 1996, serving in the Presidential sequence, then as Section Representative, and as Secretary-Treasurer since 2005.


2018 Officer Elections

Ballot Form