The Texas Section proudly bestows the following awards to members for outstanding service and dedication to physics education. For information, nomination, and past recipients click on the appropriate link.  Nominations are due January 15 and awardees are recognized at the spring meeting.

Mary Beth Monroe Distinguished Service Citation

The Mary Beth Monroe Distinguished Service Citation (MBM DSC) is an annual award given to an individual who has served the Texas physics community with distinction. The awardee can be recognized for distinguished service to the Texas Section American Association of Physics Teachers (TS AAPT), physics teaching, physics students, physics education, and/or physics mentoring. The Awards Committee will select recipients of the MBM DSC, with approval from the Council of TS AAPT. The MBM DSC will be awarded at TS AAPT’s Spring Meeting.  The MBM DSC is named in honor of Mary Beth Monroe, long-time member of TS AAPT, dedicated physics teacher, advocate for physics students at all levels, promoter of physics education, and physics mentor for many students and colleagues.

Excellence in Physics Teaching Award

Robert N. LIttle Award (Outstanding Contributions in Texas Physics Higher Education)

Katherine Mays (Outstanding Contributions in High School Physics Education in Texas-Lifetime Achievement award)