In Recognition

There have been many people responsible for the current success of TSAAPT and physics education in Texas.This page has been created in an attempt to honor them.  If there are others, please let us know.

 Jerome L. Duggan, Regents Professor


Dr. Jerome L. Duggan, 81, a regents professor in the Department of Physics at the University of North Texas died Sunday August 31, 2014.  Physics was both his career choice and his passion.  He was once quoted saying “I enjoy research because I get to study the nucleus of the atom.  It’s really the last frontier to study.”

In 1968, he started the International Conference on the Application of Accelerators in Research and Industry. An article about the conference in a newspaper clipping from the early 2000’s indicated at that point it had approximately 1,000 attendees from 50 countries presenting 500 papers.  He loved the conference and the contributions it brought to physics.

His daughter, Denise, refers to him as a great husband, father, brother, uncle, colleague, teacher and friend to everyone that was fortunate enough to meet and know him. In addition to his family, friends, students, and colleagues, he loved two things – fishing and sharing his love of physics. It brought him tremendous joy to watch his students become physicists, professors, doctors and most importantly, productive scientists.

Donald H. Kobe, Professor Emeritus of Physics


Donald H. Kobe

Donald H. Kobe, 79, a professor emeritus in the Department of Physics at the University of North Texas, died Dec. 3 at his home in Denton.  Kobe was on the physics faculty from 1968 to 2008. He made significant contributions to quantum theory and to other areas of theoretical physics. He published papers and made presentations at numerous Texas Section APS/AAPT meetings concerned with quantum mechanics, quantum field theory, statistical mechanics, classical mechanics and electromagnetism.  He earned his bachelor’s degree from the University of Texas and earned his master’s and doctoral degrees from the University of Minnesota. He is survived by his wife, Sonia, and one sister.  Adapted from INHouse.


Mary Beth Monroe

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 5.03.13 PMMary Beth Monroe was a lifelong member of SPS and served as the SPS chapter advisor at Southwest Texas Junior College in Uvalde, TX where she taught for over 38 years. She served many leadership positions, including SPS zone 13 councilor, Texas Section executive board, and national AAPT presidential chain. She was awarded the Melba Newell Phillips Medal in 2010, AAPT’s highest recognition for member leadership and lifelong service as an educator and mentor. “She made a difference in man lives, in several institutions, and to the great science of physics, in a small town, and a community college, one student at a time.” (Toni Sauncy) For more information see article in SPS Observer fall-singularities